By default, a user is added to the Project Team when you assign the resource on task.
However, you can also configure the “Project Team” first before actually assigning them on tasks. To do so:
- Login as a user with ‘Administrator’ privilege.
- Under ‘Project Options’, uncheck the option: When assigning tasks to user show all users, not just users in project team.
The advantage of this is that while assigning resources, you will see only those users instead of your entire user list.